§ 11-7.1. Who may administer oaths of office.

- (a) Except as otherwise specifically required by statute, an oath of office may be administered by any of the following:
 - (1) A justice, judge, magistrate, clerk, assistant clerk, or deputy clerk of the General Court of Justice, a retired justice, judge, or clerk of the General Court of Justice, or any member of the federal judiciary.
 - (2) The Secretary of State.
 - (3) A notary public.
 - (4) A register of deeds.
 - (5) A mayor of any city, town, or incorporated village.
 - (5a) A chairman of the board of commissioners of any county.
 - (6) A member of the House of Representatives or Senate of the General Assembly.
 - (7) The clerk of any county, city, town or incorporated village.
- (b) The administration of an oath by any judge of the Court of Appeals prior to March 7, 1969, is hereby validated. (1953, c. 23; 1969, c. 44, s. 25; c. 499; c. 713, s. 1; 1971, c. 381, s. 10; 1977, c. 344, s. 2; 1979, c. 757; 1981, c. 682, s. 2; 1983, c. 648, s. 1; 1995, c. 147, s. 1; 2019-243, s. 14.)

G.S. 11-7.1 Page 1