§ 116-4. Constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina.

The University of North Carolina shall be composed of the following institutions of higher education: the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University at Raleigh, the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Asheville, the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina School of the Arts, redesignated effective August 1, 2008, as the "University of North Carolina School of the Arts," Pembroke State University, redesignated effective July 1, 1996, as the "University of North Carolina at Pembroke", Western Carolina University and Winston-Salem State University, and the constituent high school, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics. (1971, c. 1244, s. 1; 1995 (Reg. Sess., 1996), c. 603, s. 2; 2006-66, s. 9.11(b); 2008-192, s. 2.)