§ 120-232. Committee membership; terms; organization; vacancies.

- (a) The Committee shall consist of 16 members as follows:
 - (1) Eight members of the Senate at the time of their appointment, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. At least two appointees shall be members of the Senate Appropriations Committee.
 - (2) Eight members of the House of Representatives at the time of their appointment, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. At least two appointees shall be members of the House of Representatives Appropriations Committee.
 - (3), (4) Repealed by Session Laws 2004-129, s. 7A(d), effective July 1, 2004.

(b) Members of the Committee shall serve terms of two years beginning at the convening of the General Assembly in each odd-numbered year, with no prohibition against being reappointed, except initial appointments shall begin on appointment and end on the day of convening of the 2005 General Assembly.

(c) Members may complete a term of service on the Committee even if they do not seek reelection or are not reelected, but resignation or removal from service constitutes resignation or removal from service on the Committee.

(d) The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each select a legislative member from their appointees to serve as cochair of the Committee.

(e) The Committee shall meet at least once a quarter and may meet at other times upon the call of the cochairs. A majority of the members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The affirmative vote of a majority of the members present at meetings of the Committee shall be necessary for action to be taken by the Committee.

(f) All members shall serve at the will of their appointing officer. A member continues to serve until the member's successor is appointed. A vacancy shall be filled within 30 days by the officer who made the original appointment. (1999-237, s. 22(a); 2001-486, s. 2.7; 2004-129, s. 7A(d).)