§ 77-32. Governing body.

Upon its creation, the commission shall have a governing board of seven. Except as otherwise provided for the first four-year period, each commissioner shall serve either a three or a four-year term, with commissioners to serve overlapping terms so that two commissioner appointments are made each year. Upon creation of the Commission, the Board of Commissioners of Gaston County shall appoint three commissioners and the boards of the other two counties shall appoint two each. These initial appointees shall serve until September thirtieth following their appointment. Thereafter, appointments must be made for terms beginning each October first by the respective boards of the three counties as follows:

- (1) First Year: Three commissioners from Gaston, one appointed for a one-year term, one appointed for a three-year term and one appointed for a four-year term; two commissioners from Mecklenburg, one appointed for a one-year term and one appointed for a two-year term; two commissioners from York, one appointed for a two-year term and one appointed for a three-year term.
- (2) Second Year: Two commissioners from Mecklenburg, one appointed for a three-year term and one appointed for a four-year term.
- (3) Third Year: Two commissioners from York, one appointed for a three-year term and one appointed for a four-year term.
- (4) Fourth Year: Two commissioners from Gaston, one appointed for a three-year term and one appointed for a four-year term.
- (5) Fifth and Succeeding Years: Appointments for one three-year and one four-year term in rotation by county in the order set out above.

On the death of a commissioner, resignation, incapacity or inability to serve, as determined by the board appointing the commissioner, or removal of the commissioner for cause, as determined by the board appointing the commissioner, the board affected may appoint another commissioner to fill the unexpired term. (1987, c. 683, s. 3; 1987 (Reg. Sess., 1988), c. 897, s. 3.)