GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

H 1

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1331*

Sponsors: Representatives Barnhill, Hackney, Barnes, Holt; Church, Payne, and Bowman.

Referred to: Rules.

April 14, 1989

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE MEMORIES OF MILTON J. ROSENAU, EDWARD G. MCGAVRAN, W. FRED MAYES, AND BERNARD G. GREENBERG, FORMER DEANS OF THE SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH AT THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL ON THE SCHOOL'S FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY.

1 2

3

4 5

6 7

8 9

10

11

12 13

1415

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

Whereas, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Public Health was first authorized to award academic degrees in 1939 and is now celebrating 50 years of service to the State, the nation and the world; and

Whereas, Milton J. Rosenau, Edward G. McGavran, W. Fred Mayes, and Bernard G. Greenberg served as deans during the School's 50-year history and should be recognized for their service and contributions to the School; and

Whereas, the School of Public Health was the first State-supported School of Public Health in the United States, and is the only School of Public Health in North Carolina; and

Whereas, today the School is one of the top ranking schools of the 24 accredited schools of public health in the nation; and

Whereas, the mission of the School is to advance and apply scientific knowledge to the understanding and promotion of the public's health; and

Whereas, the School grants degrees to more than 350 students each year to work as health professionals in the fields of biostatistics, environmental health, epidemiology, health behavior and health education, health policy and administration, maternal and child health, nursing, nutrition, and parasitology; and

Whereas, the School offers academic outreach programs to practicing health professionals seeking to further their careers through the east and west off-campus degree programs in North Carolina and through the regional degree program; and

Whereas, the School has granted degrees to more than 6,000 health professionals over the course of 50 years; and

Whereas, almost 2,000 of those health professionals work in the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, the School is a professional school charged by the State to enhance and maintain skills of health practitioners to remain current in their professional practice; and

Whereas, the School offers more than 150 continuing education courses each year to an average of 5,000 health professionals from 90 North Carolina counties; and

Whereas, the faculty of the School provide technical expertise and assistance to state, national, and international organizations; and

Whereas, last year 139 faculty members of the School provided more than 8,500 hours of service to North Carolina through 451 projects in 39 counties; and

Whereas, the School conducts basic and applied research to enhance the professional and technical fields which make up public health; and

Whereas, such research specifically addresses high priority North Carolina problems, which include: studies of high blood pressure control and heart disease conducted in 13 counties in the State; an assessment of comprehensive stroke programs in 15 counties; a study of the relationship between drinking water quality and colon cancer, using information from 100 public water supply agencies in the State; an evaluation of infant mortality programs around the State and the establishment of a Performance Based Evaluation System for high risk infants; an analysis of mercury content in seven North Carolina streams; studies of population exposures to chemical contaminants in unprotected surface water and groundwater supplies; and studies of radon in North Carolina homes;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly of North Carolina wishes to honor the memories of Dean Milton J. Rosenau, Dean Edward G. McGavran, Dean W. Fred Mayes, and Dean Bernard G. Greenberg and wishes to express its appreciation for their contributions and dedication to the School of Public Health at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Sec. 2. The General Assembly of North Carolina wishes to commemorate the School of Public Health at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on its 50th anniversary for its outstanding contributions and 50 years of continuous service to the State of North Carolina, the nation and the world.

Sec. 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the current Dean of the School of Public Health at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and to the families of Milton J. Rosenau, Edward G. McGavran, W. Fred Mayes, and Bernard G. Greenberg.

Sec. 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.