## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION

## CHAPTER 37 SENATE BILL 510

## AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE SEPARATE ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF CONNELLY SPRINGS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Effective with the organizational meeting after the 1993 municipal election, Section 3.1 of the Charter of the Town of Connelly Springs, being Chapter 528, Session Laws of 1989, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.1. **Number of Members.** The governing body shall consist of the seven <u>six</u> members of the Board of <u>Aldermen. Aldermen and the Mayor.</u>"

Sec. 2. Section 3.2 of the Charter of the Town of Connelly Springs, being Chapter 528, Session Laws of 1989, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.2. **Manner of Election of Board of Aldermen. <u>Election.</u> The qualified voters of the entire Town of Connelly Springs shall elect the Board of <u>Aldermen.</u> <u>Aldermen and the Mayor.</u>"** 

Sec. 3. Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Connelly Springs, being Chapter 528, Session Laws of 1989, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.3. **Term of Office of Board of Aldermen.** <u>Office.</u> Seven Aldermen are to be elected at the first regular Town Council election to be held in November of 1989. The person receiving the highest number of votes as Alderman shall be Mayor who will serve a four-year term, together with the three persons receiving the next highest numbers of votes, and they shall also serve a four-year term, and the three persons receiving the next highest numbers of votes shall serve a two-year term.

In 1991 and quadrennially thereafter, three Council Members shall be elected for four-year terms. In 1993 and quadrennially thereafter, four-three Council Members shall be elected with the person receiving the highest number of votes being Mayor. If a vacaney occurs in the office of the Council Member who is Mayor, the Council shall designate one of its members to be Mayor for the remainder of the term. elected for four-year terms, and a Mayor shall be elected for a four-year term. Effective with the organizational meeting after the 1993 municipal election, the Board of Aldermen consists of six members.

The Board of Aldermen shall in all ways respond to reasonable requests of the Town's constituents giving due consideration to the United States and State Constitutions, to the welfare of the Town, and to the long range effects and impacts of the decisions of the Town."

Sec. 4. Nothing in this act affects the terms of office of persons elected in 1989 or 1991. Nothing in the Charter of the Town of Connelly Springs shall be

construed to prevent the person who is Mayor, whether at the time of ratification of this act or afterwards, from seeking reelection as Mayor.

Sec. 5. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29th day of April, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives