GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 681 HOUSE BILL 1231

AN ACT TO INCLUDE THE COUNTIES OF ALLEGHANY, SURRY, AND WATAUGA AMONG THOSE COUNTIES THAT REQUIRE CONSENT OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS BEFORE LAND MAY BE CONDEMNED OR ACQUIRED BY A UNIT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT OUTSIDE THE COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 153A-15(c) reads as rewritten:

- "(c) This section applies to <u>Alleghany</u>, Anson, Ashe, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Burke, Buncombe, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, Cleveland, Columbus, Cumberland, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Graham, Granville, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Person, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stokes, <u>Surry</u>, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, <u>Watauga</u>, and Wilkes counties only. This section does not apply as to any:
 - (1) Condemnation; or
- (2) Acquisition of real property or an interest in real property by a city where the property to be condemned or acquired is within the corporate limits of that city."

Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 21st day of June, 1996.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate	<u> </u>
Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House	CD