GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 1999

SENATE BILL 117 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO MAKE TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS TO THE APPOINTMENTS BILL.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then G.S. 120-74, as rewritten by that act, reads as rewritten:

"§ 120-74. Appointment of members; terms of office.

The Commission shall consist of 34-36 members. The President pro tempore of the Senate, the Speaker pro tempore of the House, the Deputy President pro tempore of the Senate, the Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the Majority Leader of the Senate and the Speaker of the House shall serve as ex officio members of the Commission. The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint 15 members from the House. The President pro tempore of the Senate shall appoint 15 members from the Senate. Vacancies created by resignation or otherwise shall be filled by the original appointing authority. Members shall serve two-year terms beginning and ending on January 15 of the odd-numbered years. Members shall not be disqualified from completing a term of service on the Commission because they fail to run or are defeated for reelection. Resignation or removal from the General Assembly shall constitute resignation or removal from membership on the Commission."

Section 2. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then G.S.

93A-3(a), as rewritten by that act, reads as rewritten:

There is hereby created the North Carolina Real Estate Commission, hereinafter called the Commission. The Commission shall consist of nine members, seven members to be appointed by the Governor, one member to be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate in accordance with G.S. 120-121, and one member to be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate Speaker of the House of Representatives in accordance with G.S. 120-121. At least three members of the Commission shall be licensed real estate brokers or real estate salesmen. At least two members of the Commission shall be persons who are not involved directly or indirectly in the real estate or real estate appraisal business. Members of the Commission shall serve three-year terms, so staggered that the terms of two members expire in one year, the terms of two members expire in the next year, and the terms of three members expire in the third year of each three-year period. The members of the Commission shall elect one of their members to serve as chairman of the Commission for a term of one year. The Governor may remove any member of the Commission for misconduct, incompetency, or willful neglect of duty. The Governor shall have the power to fill all vacancies occurring on the Commission, except vacancies in legislative appointments shall be filled under G.S. 120-122."

Section 3. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then G.S.

90-139(a), as rewritten by that act, reads as rewritten:

"(a) The State Board of Chiropractic Examiners is created to consist of eight members appointed by the Governor, and General Assembly. Seven of the members shall be practicing doctors of chiropractic, who are residents of this State and who have actively practiced chiropractic in the State for at least eight consecutive years immediately preceding their appointments; four-five of these seven members shall be

appointed by the Governor, and two by the General Assembly in accordance with G.S. 120-121, one each upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. No more than three members of the Board may be graduates of the same college or school of chiropractic. The other member shall be a person chosen by the Governor to represent the public at large. The public member shall not be a health care provider nor the spouse of a health care provider. For purposes of Board membership, "health care provider" means any licensed health care professional and any agent or employee of any health care institution, health care insurer, health care professional school, or a member of any allied health profession. For purposes of this section, a person enrolled in a program to prepare him to be a licensed health care professional or an allied health professional shall be deemed a health care provider. For purposes of this section, any person with significant financial interest in a health service or profession is not a public member."

Section 4. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then

Section 2.11 of that act reads as rewritten:

"Section 2.11. Gary Eichelberger of Wake Wayne County is appointed to the Crime Victims Compensation Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2003."

Section 5. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then

Section 2.26 of that act reads as rewritten:

"Section 2.26. Fred Yates of Hertford Perquimans County, Edmond Buckman of Beaufort County, and G.B. Warner of Pasquotank Gounty are appointed to the Northeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission for terms expiring June 30, 2003."

Section 6. Upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, William Lackey of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North

Carolina Real Estate Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2002.

Section 7. If Senate Bill 437, 1999 Regular Session, becomes law, then

Section 1.11 of that act reads as rewritten:

"Section 1.11. Michael Weisel of Wake County and Thomas P. Dillion of Union County are is appointed to the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Railroad for terms a term expiring June 30, 2001. Robert F. Bleeker of Cumberland County and Michael Weisel of Wake County are is appointed to the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Railroad for a term terms expiring June 30, 2003."

Section 7.1. If Senate Bill 968 becomes law, then the amendments made by that act to G.S. 143-53(a)(1), 143-53(a)(5), and 143-57 do not apply to Special Responsibility Constituent Institutions as designated by the Board of Governors of The

University of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 116-30.1.

Section 8. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 21st day of July, 1999.

Dennis A. Wicker
President of the Senate

James B. Black
Speaker of the House of Representatives

James B. Hunt, Jr.
Governor

1999	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA		
Approved	.m. this	day of	, 19