GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2001-11 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 689

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE CITY OF RAEFORD ON THE CITY'S ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, in 1885, John McRae and A.A. Williford, owners of a store and turpentine distillery, applied to run a post office in the central part of what is known today as Hoke County; and

Whereas, the name chosen for the post office was "Raeford", a combination of John McRae's and A.A. Williford's names; and

Whereas, in 1889, Dr. A.P. Dickson and his wife, along with J.W. McLauchlin and others established a school known as the Raeford Institute; and

Whereas, the Raeford Presbyterian and Raeford Baptist Churches were built in 1899 and the Raeford Methodist Church was built in 1900; and

Whereas, during this time, a number of businesses were established and more people moved into the area; and

Whereas, the Town of Raeford was incorporated by the General Assembly on February 22, 1901; and

Whereas, the Town's first officers were B.F. Moore, Mayor, and J.W. McLauchlin, Neill McGill, Daniel MacKethan, J.W. Johnson, and Neill S. Blue, commissioners; and

Whereas, the Town became a city in 1973; and

and

Whereas, the City of Raeford has grown from 150 people to more than 4,200;

Whereas, the City of Raeford is known for its textile and lumber products and poultry processing industry; and

Whereas, the citizens of the City of Raeford have been actively planning celebrations to commemorate its centennial; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of the founders of the City of Raeford and congratulates the City on its one hundredth anniversary.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the City of Raeford.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10th day of May, 2001.

> Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives