## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

## HOUSE DRH10189-LL-59 (3/4)

Short Title: Indian Cultural Center Changes.

Sponsors:	Representative Sutton.
Referred to:	

1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO R	EVISE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTH CAROLINA INDIAN
3		CENTER BOARD.
4	The General As	sembly of North Carolina enacts:
5		<b>FION 1.</b> Subsection (b) of Section 2 of Chapter 41 of the 1997 Session
6		ed by S.L. 1998-19 and S.L. 2001-318, reads as rewritten:
7		Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall consist of
8		appointed as follows:
9	(1)	One member representing each of the following Indian groups
10		recognized by the State of North Carolina: the Coharie of Sampson
11		and Harnett Counties; the Eastern Band of Cherokees; the Haliwa of
12		Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties; the Lumbees of Robeson,
13		Hoke, and Scotland Counties; the Meherrin of Hertford County; and
14		the Indians of Person County; and the Waccamaw-Siouan from
15		Columbus and Bladen Counties; County;
16	<u>(1a)</u>	Two members representing each of the following Indian groups
17		recognized by the State of North Carolina: the Lumbees of Robeson,
18		Hoke, and Scotland Counties; and the Waccamaw-Siouan from
19		Columbus and Bladen Counties;
20	(2)	One member each from the following Indian organizations: the
21		Cumberland County Association for Indian People, the Guilford
22		Native Americans, the Metrolina Native Americans, and the Triangle
23		Native American Society;
24	(3)	One member representing the education community of the State; State
25		and residing in Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke, Robeson, or
26		Scotland County;

D

(Public)

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	(4) Two members representing the business community of the State; State
2	and residing in Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke, Robeson, or
3	Scotland Counties;
4	(5) Two members representing the government of the State of North
5	Carolina; and Carolina and residing in Bladen, Columbus,
6	Cumberland, Hoke, Robeson, or Scotland Counties; and
7	(6) One member representing the federal government.
8	Each member designated in subdivisions (1) and (2) above shall be appointed by the
9	North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations
10	submitted by the group or organization to be represented by that member. Each member
11	designated in subdivisions (3) through (6) above shall be appointed by the North
12	Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs from two prioritized nominations submitted by
13	the Board of the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc. If the nominating group or
14	organization submits only one nomination or fails to submit nominations for any reason
15	within 30 days after the date designated for submission by the Commission, the
16	Commission shall appoint a member of its choice to fill the requirement. The Board of
17	the North Carolina Indian Cultural Center, Inc., shall appoint a chair from the Board
18	membership.
19	Members shall serve two-year terms, except that the initial terms of:
20	(1) The members representing the Coharie of Sampson and Harnett
21	Counties, the Eastern Band of Cherokees, the Indians of Person
22	County; and the Meherrin of Hertford County; the member
23	representing the Metrolina Native Americans; the member
24	representing the education community of the State; one member
25	representing the government of the State of North Carolina; and one
26	member representing the business community shall be for one year;
27	and
28	(2) The members representing the Haliwa of Halifax, Warren, and
29	adjoining counties, the Lumbees of Robeson, Hoke, and Scotland
30	Counties, and the Waccamaw-Siouan from Columbus and Bladen
31	Counties; the members representing the Cumberland County
32	Association for Indian People and the Guilford Native Americans; one
33	member representing the business community of the State; one
34	member representing the government of the State of North Carolina;
35	and one member representing the federal government shall be for two
36	years."
37	<b>SECTION 2.</b> The initial term of the additional Lumbee representative
38	provided for in Section 1 of this act shall be for one year. The initial term of the
39 40	additional Waccamaw-Siouan representative shall be for two years. If the members
40	representing the education community, the business community, and the government of the State of North Carolina do not most the regidency requirement provided for in
41 42	the State of North Carolina do not meet the residency requirement provided for in Section 1 of this act on the effective date of this act, new members shall be appointed to
42 43	Section 1 of this act on the effective date of this act, new members shall be appointed to those seats to serve the remainder of those members' terms.
43 44	
44	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This act becomes effective July 1, 2003.