## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE DRS75486-LL-325\* (5/11)

Short Title: District 29B Judge/ADA Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Apodaca.

Referred to:

2

3

4

5

7

8

9

10

11

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGESHIP IN DISTRICT 29B AND TWO ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY POSITIONS AND TWO VICTIM WITNESS ASSISTANT POSITIONS IN PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 29.

6 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

## "§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

12	District	Judges	County
13	1	5	Camden
14			Chowan
15			Currituck
16			Dare
17			Gates
18			Pasquotank
19			Perquimans
20	2	4	Martin
21			Beaufort
22			Tyrrell
23			Hyde
24			Washington
25	3A	5	Pitt
26	3B	5	Craven
27			Pamlico

Ge	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2005	
1			Carteret	
2	4	8	Sampson	
3			Duplin	
4			Jones	
5			Onslow	
6	5	8	New Hanover	
7			Pender	
8	6A	2	Halifax	
9	6B	3	Northampton	
10			Bertie	
11			Hertford	
12	7	7	Nash	
13			Edgecombe	
14			Wilson	
15	8	6	Wayne	
16			Greene	
17			Lenoir	
18	9	4	Granville	
19	-		(part of Vance	
20			see subsection (b))	
21			Franklin	
22	9A	2	Person	
23	,		Caswell	
24	9B	2	Warren	
25	-		(part of Vance	
26			see subsection (b))	
27	10	15	Wake	
28	11	8	Harnett	
29			Johnston	
30			Lee	
31	12	9	Cumberland	
32	13	6	Bladen	
33			Brunswick	
34			Columbus	
35	14	6	Durham	
36	15A	4	Alamance	
37	15B	4	Orange	
38			Chatham	
39	16A	3	Scotland	
40		_	Hoke	
41	16B	5	Robeson	
42	17A	$\frac{3}{2}$	Rockingham	
43	17B	2 4	Stokes	
44	- · <del>-</del>	·	Surry	
			~ 411 /	

Page 2 S1802 [Filed]

Gen	eral Assembly of Nor	th Carolina	Session 200
	18	12	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus
	19B	6	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	3	Union
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
		•	Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
		•	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	21	,	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	23	O	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
	210	4	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
	29 <b>A</b>	J	Rutherford
	29B	15	Henderson
	29 <b>D</b>	4- <u>5</u>	Polk
	20	5	Transylvania
	30	J	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain"

S1802 [Filed] Page 3

1 2

3

4 5

6

7

**SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 29B authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

**SECTION 3.** G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

8	$\mathcal{E}$		No. of Full-Time
9	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
10	District	Counties	Attorneys
11	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
12		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
13		Perquimans	
14	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
15		Tyrrell, Washington	
16	3A	Pitt	9
17	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
18	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
19		Sampson	
20	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
21	6A	Halifax	4
22	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
23		Northampton	
24	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
25	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
26	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
27		Vance, Warren	
28	9A	Person, Caswell	4
29	10	Wake	31
30	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
31	12	Cumberland	18
32	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
33	14	Durham	13
34	15A	Alamance	8
35	15B	Orange, Chatham	7
36	16A	Scotland, Hoke	5
37	16B	Robeson	10
38	17A	Rockingham	5
39	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
40	18	Guilford	27
41	19A	Cabarrus	6
42	19B	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
43	19C	Rowan	5
44	20	Anson, Richmond,	15

Page 4 S1802 [Filed]

	General Assembly of North Carolina			Session 2005
1			Stanly, Union	
2	21		Forsyth	17
3	22		Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	16
4			Iredell	
5	23		Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5
6			Yadkin	
7	24		Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4
8			Watauga, Yancey	
9	25		Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15
10	26		Mecklenburg	36
11	27A		Gaston	12
12	27B		Cleveland,	9
13			Lincoln	
14	28		Buncombe	11
15	29		Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	<del>11</del> <u>13</u>
16			Rutherford, Transylvania	
17	30		Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9
18			Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
19			Swain."	
20		<b>SECTION 4.</b>	There is appropriated from the Gener	al Fund to the Judicial

**SECTION 4.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judgeship for District Court District 29B authorized by this act.

 **SECTION 5.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one hundred sixty-nine thousand three hundred ninety-two dollars (\$169,392) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two additional assistant district attorney positions for Prosecutorial District 29 authorized by this act.

**SECTION 6.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of ninety-six thousand seven hundred eight dollars (\$96,708) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish two additional victim witness assistant positions for Prosecutorial District 29.

**SECTION 7.** Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006. The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.

S1802 [Filed] Page 5