## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE DRS55069-LMx-43B\* (02/22)

(Local)

Taylorsville Satellite Annexations.

Sponsors: Senator Garwood.

Referred to:

21

22

23

Short Title:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE 3 TOWN OF TAYLORSVILLE. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten: "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 6 7 standards: 8 The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to 9 (5) the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten 10 percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the 11 annexing city. 12 This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, 13 Concord, Conover, Gastonia, Hickory, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, 14 Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, 15 Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the 16 Towns of Angier, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Creswell, Dallas, 17 Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, 18 Knightdale, Leland, Louisburg, Maiden, Mayodan, 19 Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, 20

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

Waynesville, Wendell, and Zebulon."

Rutherfordton, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,