GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE DRS75226-LL-177 (03/11)

Short Title: District 9C District Court Judge Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Berger of Franklin.

Referred to:

2

3

4 5

7 8

9

10

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO CREATE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 9C CONSISTING OF FRANKLIN, GRANVILLE, VANCE, AND WARREN COUNTIES AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR A JUDGE TO SERVE AT-LARGE IN THAT DISTRICT.

6 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

- 0			
11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret

(General Assembly of	of North Carolina Session 2007		
1 2	4	8	Sampson Duplin	
3			Jones	
4			Onslow	
5	5	8	New Hanover	
6			Pender	
7	6A	3	Halifax	
8	6B	3	Northampton	
9			Bertie	
10	7	7	Hertford	
11	7	7	Nash	
12			Edgecombe	
13 14	8	6	Wilson	
	8	6	Wayne Greene	
15 16			Lenoir	
17	9	4	Granville	
18	9	4	(part of Vance	
19			see subsection (b))	
20			Franklin	
21	9A	2	Person	
22	<i>)</i> 11	2	Caswell	
23	9B	2	Warren	
24) .	2	(part of Vance	
25			see subsection (b))	
26	<u>9C</u>	<u>1</u>	Franklin	
27	<u>></u>	<u> </u>	<u>Granville</u>	
28			Vance	
29			Warren	
30	10	16	Wake	
31	11	9	Harnett	
32			Johnston	
33			Lee	
34	12	9	Cumberland	
35	13	6	Bladen	
36			Brunswick	
37			Columbus	
38	14	7	Durham	
39	15A	4	Alamance	
40	15B	5	Orange	
41			Chatham	
42	16A	3	Scotland	
43			Hoke	
44	16B	5	Robeson	

Page 2 S828 [Filed]

General Ass	embly of North Carolina	Session 200
17A	3	Rockingham
17B	4	Stokes
		Surry
18	13	Guilford
19A	4	Cabarrus
19B	7	Montgomery
		Moore
		Randolph
19C	5	Rowan
20A	4	Stanly
		Anson
		Richmond
20B	1	(part of Union
		see subsection (b))
20C	2	(part of Union
		see subsection (b))
21	9	Forsyth
22	9	Alexander
		Davidson
		Davie
		Iredell
23	4	Alleghany
		Ashe
		Wilkes
		Yadkin
24	4	Avery
		Madison
		Mitchell
		Watauga
		Yancey
25	9	Burke
		Caldwell
		Catawba
26	18	Mecklenburg
27A	7	Gaston
27B	5	Cleveland
_,13	Ţ.	Lincoln
28	7	Buncombe
29A	3	McDowell
	Į.	Rutherford
29B	4	Henderson
2,5	•	Polk
		Transylvania
30	6	Cherokee

S828 [Filed] Page 3

35

36

1 Clay 2 Graham 3 Haywood 4 Jackson 5 Macon 6 Swain." 7 **SECTION 2.** The district court judgeship established for District Court 8 District 9C authorized by this act shall be filled by election in the 2008 election for a 9 four-year term commencing January 1, 2009. 10 **SECTION 3.** G.S. 7A-200 reads as rewritten: 11 "§ 7A-200. District and set of districts defined; chief district court judges and their 12 authority. 13 In this section: (a) 14 (1) "District" means any district court district established by G.S. 7A-133 15 which consists exclusively of one or more entire counties; "Set of districts" means any set of two or more district court districts 16 (2) 17 established under G.S. 7A-133, none of which consists exclusively of 18 one or more entire counties, but both or all of which include territory 19 from the same county or counties and together comprise all of the 20 territory of that county or those counties; "set of districts" also means a 21 set of three district court districts in four counties, one consisting of all 22 four counties and the other two consisting of one or two entire counties 23 and parts of another county; and 24 "Chief district court judge" means in the case of a set of districts, the (3) 25 chief district court judge for those districts, designated by the chief 26 justice from among the district court judges for the districts in the set 27 of districts. 28 Whenever by law a duty is imposed upon the chief district court judge, it 29 means for a set of districts the chief district court judge designated under subsection 30 (a)(3) of this section." 31 **SECTION 4.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial 32 Department the sum of eighty thousand eight hundred twenty dollars (\$80,820) for the 33 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this 34 act.

SECTION 5. This act becomes effective January 1, 2009, but applies to the 2008 election as provided in the terms of the act.

Page 4 S828 [Filed]