GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

Η

1

6

HOUSE BILL 68

Short Title:	Tax Certification - Add Brunswick County.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representatives Iler and Hill (Primary Sponsors).	
	For a complete list of Sponsors, see Bill Information on the NCGA Web	Site.
Referred to:	Government.	

February 10, 2011

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

- 2 AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE BRUNSWICK COUNTY TO REQUIRE THE PAYMENT OF 3 DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES BEFORE RECORDING DEEDS CONVEYING 4 PROPERTY.
- 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

7 "§ 161-31. Tax certification.

8 Tax Certification. - The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, (a) 9 require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration 10 unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the 11 12 property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution. 13

14 Exception to Tax Certification. - If a board of county commissioners adopts a (a1) resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register 15 of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the 16 supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument 17 18 prepared by: , a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds." 19 20 Applicability. - This section applies only to Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, (b) 21 Brunswick, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, 22 23 Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, 24 25 Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, 26 Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, 27 Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties." 28

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.



1