GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H 2

HOUSE BILL 68 Committee Substitute Favorable 3/9/11

Short Title:	Tax Certification - Add Counties.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		
	February 10, 2011	
COUNT	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED O AUTHORIZE ALAMANCE, BRUNSWICK, BUNCO IES TO REQUIRE THE PAYMENT OF DELINQUEN E RECORDING DEEDS CONVEYING PROPERTY.	*
The General S	Assembly of North Carolina enacts: ECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:	
(a) T require the r unless the covalorem mun property des	Fax certification. Fax Certification. – The board of commissioners of a corregister of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real ounty tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad vanicipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is exercibed in the deed. The county commissioners may must take in its resolution.	property for registration alorem county taxes, ad harged are a lien on the
(a1) E resolution pure of deeds should be supervision of prepared by: paid by the control (b) A	Exception to Tax Certification. – If a board of county of cursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the nall accept without certification a deed submitted for of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the county tax collector upon disbursement applicability. – This section applies only to Alamance, Alexandre Alexandre (Alamance) and containing the county tax collector upon disbursement applicability. – This section applies only to Alamance, Alexandre (Alamance)	registration, the register registration under the deed: "This instrument quent taxes, if any, to be ent of closing proceeds." xander, Anson, Beaufort,
Cherokee, C Edgecombe, Henderson, Madison, Ma	nswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carter Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, E Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Hall Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, I artin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onsle Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Ru	Davie, Duplin, Durham, ifax, Harnett, Haywood, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, ow, Pasquotank, Pender,



Yadkin, and Yancey Counties."



Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and