GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H.B. 282 Mar 8, 2017 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

H

Brunswick Counties."

HOUSE BILL DRH30131-MCx-102 (03/06)

Short Title: Yadkin Occupancy Tax Modification. (Local)

Sponsors: Representative Zachary.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE AUTHORIZATIONS FOR OCCUPANCY TAX LEVIES INSIDE YADKIN COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of S.L. 2007-340 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2. Yadkin County District Y Created. – Yadkin County District Y is created as a taxing district. Its jurisdiction consists of that part of Yadkin County that is located outside of incorporated areas within the county.the Town of Jonesville. Yadkin County District Y is a body politic and corporate and has the power to carry out the provisions of this act. The Yadkin County Board of Commissioners shall serve ex officio as the governing body of the district, and the officers of the county shall serve as the officers of the governing body of the district. A simple majority of the governing body constitutes a quorum, and approval by a majority of those present is sufficient to determine any matter before the governing body, if a quorum is present."

SECTION 2. The governing body of Yadkin County District Y and the Yadkin County Board of Commissioners shall adopt any resolutions or modify any adopted resolutions, as needed, to carry out the provisions of this act.

SECTION 3. Sections 7 and 8 of S.L. 2007-340 are repealed.

SECTION 4. G.S. 160A-215(g) reads as rewritten:

"(g) Applicability. – Subsection (c) of this section applies to all cities that levy an occupancy tax. To the extent subsection (c) conflicts with any provision of a local act, subsection (c) supersedes that provision. The remainder of this section applies only to Beech Mountain District W, to the Cities of Belmont, Conover, Eden, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Goldsboro, Greensboro, Hickory, High Point, Jacksonville, Kings Mountain, Lake Santeetlah, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Lowell, Lumberton, Monroe, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, Reidsville, Roanoke Rapids, Salisbury, Shelby, Statesville, Washington, and Wilmington, to the Towns of Ahoskie, Beech Mountain, Benson, Bermuda Run, Blowing Rock, Boiling Springs, Boone, Burgaw, Carolina Beach, Carrboro, Cooleemee, Cramerton, Dallas, Dobson, Elkin, Fontana Dam, Franklin, Grover, Hillsborough, Jonesville, Kenly, Kure Beach, Leland, McAdenville, Mocksville, Mooresville, Murfreesboro, North Topsail Beach, Pembroke, Pilot Mountain, Ranlo, Robbinsville, Selma, Smithfield, St. Pauls, Swansboro, Troutman, Tryon, West Jefferson, Wilkesboro, Wrightsville Beach, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville, and to the municipalities in Avery and

SECTION 5. This act becomes effective July 1, 2017.



D