§ 130A-33.44. Minority Health Advisory Council – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

(a) The Minority Health Advisory Council in the Department shall consist of 15 members to be appointed as follows:

- (1) Five members shall be appointed by the Governor. Members appointed by the Governor shall be representatives of the following: health care providers, public health, health related public and private agencies and organizations, community-based organizations, and human services agencies and organizations.
- (2) Five members shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two of whom shall be members of the House of Representatives, and at least one of whom shall be a public member. The remainder of the Speaker's appointees shall be representative of any of the entities named in subdivision (1) of this subsection.
- (3) Five members shall be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, two of whom shall be members of the Senate, and at least one of whom shall be a public member. The remainder of the President Pro Tempore's appointees shall be representative of any of the entities named in subdivision (1) of this subsection.
- (4) Of the members appointed by the Governor, two shall serve initial terms of one year, two shall serve initial terms of two years, and one shall serve an initial term of three years. Thereafter, the Governor's appointees shall serve terms of four years.
- (5) Of the nonlegislative members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two shall serve initial terms of two years, and one shall serve an initial term of three years. Thereafter, nonlegislative members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall serve terms of four years. Of the nonlegislative members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, two shall serve initial terms of two years, and one shall serve an initial term of three years. Thereafter, nonlegislative members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall serve terms of four years. Legislative members of the Council shall serve two-year terms.

(b) The Chairperson of the Council shall be elected by the Council from among its membership.

(c) The majority of the Council shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(d) Members of the Council shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5 or G.S. 138-6, or travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 120-3.1, as applicable.

(e) All clerical support and other services required by the Council shall be provided by the Department. (1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 900, s. 166; 1997-443, s. 11A.74.)