GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 33 HOUSE BILL 264

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE ELECTION OF THE ANSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION FROM SEVEN SINGLE-MEMBER DISTRICTS, WITH TWO AT LARGE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. For the purpose of nominating and electing members of the county board of education, Anson County is divided into seven districts, each of which shall nominate and elect one member. The districts shall be the same as those for election of the Anson County Board of Commissioners as provided by Section 2 of Chapter 281, Session Laws of 1987. In addition, two members shall be nominated and elected at large.

Sec. 2. The qualified voters of each district established by this act shall nominate candidates and elect a member who resides in that district for the seat apportioned to that district. The qualified voters of Anson County shall nominate candidates and elect members who reside in Anson County for the seats apportioned to the county at large.

Sec. 3. (a) In 1991 members shall be elected from Districts 1, 3, and 5 for three-year terms, and two members shall be elected at large for three-year terms.

(b) In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, members shall be elected from Districts 2, 4, 6, and 7 for four-year terms.

(c) In 1994 and quadrennially thereafter, members shall be elected from Districts 1, 3, and 5 for four-year terms, and two members shall be elected at large for four-year terms.

Sec. 4. (a) For the purpose of determining the manner of filling vacancies on the Anson County Board of Education:

- (1) Charles Riddle, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1990, shall be a member at large;
- (2) Lee Roy Lookabill, Jr., whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1990, shall be a member at large;
- (3) Richard Johnson, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1990, shall represent District 1;
- (4) Richard Allen, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1992, shall represent District 4;
- (5) Clayton Bennett, Jr., whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1990, shall represent District 3;

- (6) Linda Jones, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1992, shall represent District 2;
- (7) John Capell, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1990, shall represent District 5;
- (8) Nat White, Jr., whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1992, shall represent District 6; and
- (9) Melvin Bell, whose term expires on the first Monday in December of 1992, shall represent District 7;

(b) When a vacancy occurs on any district seat, the person appointed to fill the vacancy must be a resident of that district.

Sec. 5. The results of primary elections for at-large seats on the Anson County Board of Education shall be determined as provided by G.S. 163-111 for the group method of election.

Sec. 6. The provisions of Chapter 261, Session Laws of 1967, as amended, which were in effect at the time of ratification of this act, and which do not conflict with this act, are not affected by this act.

Sec. 7. The election dates, general timetable, and filing period for the 1991 election authorized by this act shall be established by the Executive Secretary-Director of the State Board of Elections.

Sec. 8. This act is effective upon ratification. Upon its ratification, Chapter 288 of the 1989 Session Laws is repealed.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of April, 1991.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives