GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 181

Sponsors: Representatives Jack Hunt; Lutz and Bowman.

Referred to: Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House.

February 18, 1993

1 A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE DELEGATES TO THE NORTH 2 CAROLINA CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION OF 1868 AND THE FIRST COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INCLUDING THOSE OF RUTHERFORD 3 COUNTY, ELECTED UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF 1868 UPON THE 4 125TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE 1868 NORTH CAROLINA CONSTITUTION. 5 WHICH ESTABLISHED THE COUNTY COMMISSIONER FORM OF 6 GOVERNMENT IN NORTH CAROLINA. 7 Whereas, delegates to the Constitutional Convention of 1868 met from 8 January to March 1868 to draft a new Constitution for North Carolina; and 9 Whereas, the delegates were familiar with progressive local government 10 systems in other states; and 11 Whereas, the delegates drafted a new and more democratic Constitution for 12 North Carolina, which was ratified by the people of the State in April of 1868; and 13 14 Whereas, the Constitution of 1868 reformed the system of county government 15 in North Carolina; and Whereas, the Constitution of 1868 eliminated the county Court of Pleas and 16 Quarter Sessions, created townships, and assigned administrative duties to a new board 17 of county commissioners in each county; and 18 Whereas, the Constitution of 1868 provided for the direct election of county 19 officials by popular vote; and 20 21 Whereas, the Constitution of 1868 established a uniform, progressive, and 22 democratic system of county and township government in North Carolina; and

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1 Whereas, Rutherford County was one of the first counties to elect county 2 commissioners under the system established by the Constitution of 1868; and 3 Whereas, the people of Rutherford County elected B.W. Andrews, John M. 4 Allen, Calvin J. Sparks, and H.H. Hopper as their first county commissioners under the 5 Constitution of 1868: and 6 Whereas, the first County Commissioners of Rutherford County and their 7 counterparts across the State participated in a new and more democratic plan of 8 organization for counties; and 9 Whereas, the county commissioner form of government, first introduced by 10 the Constitution of 1868, has successfully served the people of North Carolina for 125 11 vears: 12 Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring: 13 Section 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of the members of the 14 Constitutional Convention of 1868 and the first county commissioners in the State, 15 including those of Rutherford County, elected under the Constitution of 1868, upon the 16 125th anniversary of the Constitution of 1868, which established the county 17 commissioner form of government in North Carolina. 18 Sec. 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution 19 to the chair of each board of county commissioners of the State and to the President of 20 the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners.

Sec. 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification. 21