GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

H HOUSE BILL 149*

Short Title: Stagger Marine Fisheries Commission Terms. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Wainwright.

2 3

Referred to: Environment and Natural Resources.

February 19, 2001

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO STAGGER THE TERMS OF THE MEMBERS OF THE MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION, AS RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON SEAFOOD AND AQUACULTURE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 143B-289.4(d) reads as rewritten:

"(d) Terms. – The term of office of members of the Commission is three years. A member may be reappointed to any number of successive three-year terms. Upon the expiration of a three-year term, a member shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed and duly qualified as provided by G.S. 128-7. The term of members appointed under subdivisions (1), (2), and (3) (4), and (7) of subsection (a) of this section shall expire on 30 June of years evenly divisible by three. The term of members appointed under subdivisions (4), (5), and (6) (2), (5), and (8) of subsection (a) of this section shall expire on 30 June of years that precede by one year those years that are evenly divisible by three. The term of members appointed under subdivisions (7), (8), (3), (6), and (9) of subsection (a) of this section shall expire on 30 June of years that follow by one year those years that are evenly divisible by three."

SECTION 2. In order to alter the schedule of staggered terms of three years for the Marine Fisheries Commission and to provide for an orderly transition in membership of the Commission as specified in G.S. 143B-289.54, as amended by Section 1 of this act, notwithstanding G.S. 143B-289.54(d), the following provisions apply:

- (1) Willy Phillips shall serve in the position established by G.S. 143B-289.54(a)(1) through June 30, 2001.
- (2) Robert Southerland shall serve in the position established by G.S. 143B-289.54(a)(2) through June 30, 2001. The term of the individual next appointed to fill this position shall be for two years and shall expire June 30, 2003.

Jimmy Johnson shall serve in the position established by G.S. (3) 1 2 143B-289.54(a)(3) for a term of four years through June 30, 2002. 3 (4) Norman F. Bradford, Jr., shall serve in the position established by G.S. 143B-289.54(a)(4) for a term of four years through June 30, 2004. 4 5 William T. Russ, Jr., shall serve in the position established by G.S. (5) 6 143B-289.54(a)(5) through June 30, 2003. 7 Benjamin Currin shall serve in the position established by G.S. (6) 8 143B-289.54(a)(6) through June 30, 2003. The term of the individual next appointed to fill this position shall be for two years and shall 9 10 expire June 30, 2005. Barbara Garrity-Blake shall serve in the position established by G.S. 11 (7) 12 143B-289.54(a)(7) through June 30, 2002. The term of the individual 13 next appointed to fill this position shall be for two years and shall 14 expire June 30, 2004. 15 (8) Bryan Gillikin shall serve in the position established by G.S. 16 143B-289.54(a)(8) for a term of four years through June 30, 2003. B.J. Copeland shall serve in the position established by G.S. 17 (9) 18 143B-289.54(a)(9) through June 30, 2002. 19 **SECTION 3.** This act becomes effective June 30, 2001.