GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

D

H HOUSE DRH30055-LMx-22 (01/30)

Short Title: Four Oaks Satellite Annexations. (Local)

Sponsors: Representative Langdon.

Referred to:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21 22

23

2425

2627

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF FOUR OAKS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

8 ...

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.