GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE BILL 180

1

Short Title:	Four Oaks Satellite Annexations.

(Local)

Sponsors:	Representatives Langdon; and Daughtry.
Referred to:	Local Government I.

February 14, 2007

1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE		
3	TOWN OF FOUR OAKS.		
4	The Generation	al Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
5	·	SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:	
6	"(b) A	A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following	
7	standards:		
8			
9	((5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to	
10		the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten	
11		percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the	
12		annexing city.	
13		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,	
14		Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,	
15		Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,	
16		Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,	
17		Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier,	
18		Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton,	
19		Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina,	
20		Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly,	
21		Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden,	
22		Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level,	
23		Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield,	
24		Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy,	
25		Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and	
26		Zebulon."	
27		SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.	