GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE BILL 386

Short Title:	Warren School Board Election.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Berger of Franklin.	

Sponsors: Senator Berger of Franklin.

Referred to: State & Local Government.

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

February 28, 2007

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO CONFIRM THAT WARREN COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBERS ARE TO BE ELECTED FROM TOWNSHIPS AS PROVIDED IN CHAPTER 335 OF THE PUBLIC-LOCAL LAWS OF 1937.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The five members of the Warren County Board of Education shall be elected from townships as provided in Section 1 of Chapter 335, Public-Local Laws of 1937. The five districts for election of board members shall continue to be as follows:

- (1) District One: Warrenton Township.
- (2) District Two: River, Roanoke, and Six Pound Townships.
- (3) District Three: Nutbush, Smith Creek, and Hawtree Townships.
 - (4) District Four: Sandy Creek, Shocco, and Fork Townships.
 - (5) District Five: Fishing Creek and Judkins Townships.

SECTION 2. To be eligible for election to the board from a district, a candidate must reside in the district, and to be eligible to serve as a member of the board representing a district, a person must reside in the district. All eligible voters of the county shall vote on the members from all five districts, however.

SECTION 3. If a vacancy occurs on the board, the remaining members of the board shall appoint a person to replace the departing member. The person appointed as the replacement must reside in the district which was served by the departing member.

SECTION 4. Except as provided in this act, elections for the Warren County Board of Education shall be conducted according to general law.

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.