GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H HOUSE BILL 1216*

Short Title:	Town of Wallace/Satellite Annexations. (Local
Sponsors:	Representative Dixon (Primary Sponsor).
	For a complete list of Sponsors, see Bill Information on the NCGA Web Site.
Referred to:	Government, if favorable, Finance.

May 31, 2012 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR 3 THE TOWN OF WALLACE. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten: 6 "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 7 standards: 8 The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more (1)9 than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the 10 (2)primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits 11 12 of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section. The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide 13 (3) the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it 14 provides within its primary corporate limits. 15 If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision 16 (4) as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included. 17 18 The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the (5) area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent 19 (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 20 This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, 21 Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, 22 23 Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, 24 Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, 25 Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, 26 27 Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, 28 Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Huntersville, Jamestown, 29 Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, 30 31 Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville,



Richlands,

Ranlo,

32 33

34

Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level,

Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville,

Rolesville, Rutherfordton,

- Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, 1 2 3 Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."
- **SECTION 2.** This act applies to the Town of Wallace only. **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.
- 4

Page 2 H1216 [Edition 1]