GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

HOUSE BILL 528 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL MEMBER TO THE DUPLIN COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AND THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF DUPLIN COUNTY, AND TO CONFIRM THAT NORMAL REDISTRICTING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO THOSE UNITS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Chapter 966 of the 1987 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Section 1. Except as provided in Section 4 of this act following the 1988 elections the Effective the first Monday in December of 2012, the Duplin County Board of Commissioners and Board of Education shall each consist of six seven members elected in partisan elections elections, one each from the six districts described in Section 8.8, and one from the county at large. Only voters who reside in a district may vote in the party primaries and general elections for that district."

SECTION 2. Section 5 of Chapter 966 of the 1987 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 5. In 1990 and every four years thereafter, one commissioner each shall be elected from Districts II and III. In 1992 and every four years thereafter, one commissioner each shall be elected from Districts I, IV, V and VI. <u>In 2012 and every four years thereafter, one commissioner shall be elected at large.</u>"

SECTION 3. Section 6 of Chapter 966 of the 1987 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 6. In 1988 and every four years thereafter, three members shall be elected to the Board of Education, one each from Districts I, V and VI. The three other members of the Board of Education shall be elected in 1990 and every four years thereafter. In those years one member each shall be elected from Districts II, III and IV. In 2012 and every four years thereafter, one member shall be elected at large."

SECTION 4. G.S. 153A-22 applies to the Duplin County Board of Commissioners. G.S. 115C-37(i) applies to the Duplin County Board of Education.

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of June, 2011.

Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

