GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S SENATE BILL 453

Short Title:	Congressional Districts. (Public)
Sponsors:	Senators Rucho, Brock, Brown; Apodaca, Brunstetter, Clary, Dannelly, Forrester, Hise, Hunt, Jones, McKissick, Rabon, and Walters.
Referred to:	Redistricting.
	March 30, 2011
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
AN ACT	TO REALIGN THE UNITED STATES CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS
FOLLOWING THE RETURN OF THE 2010 FEDERAL DECENNIAL CENSUS.	
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
SECTION 1. G.S. 163-201 is rewritten to read:	
"Article 17.	
"Members of United States House of Representatives.	
"§ 163-201. Congressional districts specified.	
(a) For purposes of nominating and electing members of the House of Representatives	
of the Congress of the United States in 2012 and every two years thereafter; the State of North	
Carolina shall be divided into 13 districts as follows:	
District 1	:
	he names and boundaries of voting tabulation districts, tracts, block groups, and fied in this section are as shown on the 2010 Census Redistricting TIGER/Line
Shapernes.	

- (c) If any voting tabulation district boundary is changed, that change shall not change the boundary of a congressional district, which shall remain the same as it is depicted by the 2010 Census Redistricting TIGER/Line Shapefiles.
- (d) If this section does not specifically assign any area within North Carolina to a district, and the area is:
 - (1) Entirely surrounded by a single district, the area shall be deemed to have been assigned to that district.
 - (2) Contiguous to two or more districts, the area shall be deemed to have been assigned to that district which contains the least population according to the 2010 United States Census.
 - (3) Contiguous to only one district and to another state or the Atlantic Ocean, the area shall be deemed to have been assigned to that district."
- **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2012.

