## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

## HOUSE BILL 1022 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REMOVE CERTAIN DESCRIBED PROPERTY FROM THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE TOWN OF MAXTON AND TO REMOVE CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF SILER CITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.(a)** The following described property, referenced by the Robeson County Tax Office Parcel Identification Number, is removed from the corporate limits of the Town of Maxton: 331202045; 331202046; and 331202047.

**SECTION 1.(b)** This act has no effect upon the validity of any liens of the Town of Maxton for ad valorem taxes or special assessments outstanding before the effective date of this act. Such liens may be collected or foreclosed upon after the effective date of this act as though the property were still within the corporate limits of the Town of Maxton.

**SECTION 1.(c)** This section becomes effective June 30, 2016. Property in the territory described by this section as of January 1, 2016, is no longer subject to municipal taxes for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2016.

**SECTION 2.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

## "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon.

...."



SECTION 3. Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2016.

s/ Harry Brown Presiding Officer of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives