## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2015**

S

## **SENATE BILL 142**

	Short Title:	Cumberland County Civic Center Commission.	(Local)
	Sponsors:	Senators Meredith and Clark (Primary Sponsors).	
	Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate.	
	March 4, 2015		
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2			ON THE
3		RLAND COUNTY CIVIC CENTER COMMISSION.	
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
5	<b>SECTION 1.</b> Section 1 of Chapter 360 of the 1965 Session Laws, as amended by		
6	Chapter 983 of the 1983 Session Laws and Chapter 27 of the 1991 Session Laws, reads as		
7	rewritten:		
8	"Section	1. (a) Cumberland County Civic Center Commission.	
9			
10	(b) M	Iembership; Terms of Office. The Commission shall consist of 16-10	members.
11	Fifteen Nine members shall be residents of Cumberland County and shall be appointed by the		
12	Board of County Commissioners. The sixteenth-tenth member shall be the County Manager of		
13	Cumberland County who shall serve in an ex officio and nonvoting capacity and without limit		
14	as to term.		
15	(1	1) Five (5) of the first members of the Commission shall be appoint	nted for a
16		term of one year, five for a term of two years, and five for a terr	n of three
17		years. Each member of the Commission shall serve for a term of the	ree years,
18		and until their successors are appointed for like terms. The term	s shall be
19		staggered. Upon the expiration of each of the terms, the Board of	of County
20		Commissioners shall appoint successor members of the Commis	ssion who
21		shall each serve for terms of three years and until their succe	
22		appointed for like terms. Commission. Any member of the Commi	
23		be reappointed for successive terms.	
24			
25	(5	5) Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held monthly	7. Special
26	(°	meetings may be called by the Chairman or a majority of t	
27		members of the Commission. Attendance of eight five mem	
28		constitute a quorum for the purpose of transaction of business at a	
29		or special meeting.	
30			
31	SI	<b>ECTION 2.</b> The provisions of this act do not affect the terms of off	ice of the
32	following members of the Cumberland County Civic Center Commission or their successors		
33	who are holding office on the date this act becomes effective: Edith Bigler, Judy Dawkins,		
34	McBryde Grannis, Thaddeus T. Jenkins, Mark Lynch, William Tew, Jr., Elizabeth Varnedoe,		
35	Nat Robertson, and Robert C. Williams.		
36	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.		

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

