## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

S

## **SENATE BILL 142**

State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 3/17/15

Cumberland County Civic Center Commission. Short Title:

(Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

	March 4, 2015
1 2 3	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO REDUCE THE NUMBER OF MEMBERS SERVING ON THE CUMBERLAND COUNTY CIVIC CENTER COMMISSION.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	SECTION 1. Section 1 of Chapter 360 of the 1965 Session Laws, as amended by
6	Chapter 983 of the 1983 Session Laws and Chapter 27 of the 1991 Session Laws, reads as
7	rewritten:
8	"Section 1.(a) Cumberland County Civic Center Commission.
9	
10	(b) Membership; Terms of Office. The Commission shall consist of <u>16–10</u> members.
11	Fifteen Nine members shall be residents of Cumberland County and shall be appointed by the
12	Board of County Commissioners. The sixteenth-tenth member shall be the County Manager of
13	Cumberland County who shall serve in an ex officio and nonvoting capacity and without limit
14	as to term.
15	(1) Five (5) of the first members of the Commission shall be appointed for a
16	term of one year, five for a term of two years, and five for a term of three
17	years. Each member of the Commission shall serve for a term of three years.
18	and until their successors are appointed for like terms. The terms shall be
19	staggered. Upon the expiration of each of the terms, the Board of County
20	Commissioners shall appoint successor members of the Commission who
21	shall each serve for terms of three years and until their successors are
22	appointed for like terms. <u>Commission</u> . Any member of the Commission may
23	be reappointed for successive terms.
24	 (5) Decular meetings of the Commission shall be hold monthly Special
25	(5) Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held monthly. Special
26 27	meetings may be called by the Chairman or a majority of the voting members of the Commission. Attendence of eight five voting members shall
27	members of the Commission. Attendance of <u>eight-five voting</u> members shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transaction of business at any regular
28 29	or special meeting.
30	"
31	<b>SECTION 2.</b> The provisions of this act do not affect the terms of office of the
32	following members of the Cumberland County Civic Center Commission or their successors
33	who are holding office on the date this act becomes effective: Edith Bigler, Judy Dawkins,
34	McBryde Grannis, Thaddeus T. Jenkins, Mark Lynch, William Tew, Jr., Elizabeth Varnedoe,
35	Nat Robertson, and Robert C. Williams.
36	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.



