GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

SENATE BILL 142 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REDUCE THE NUMBER OF MEMBERS SERVING ON THE CUMBERLAND COUNTY CIVIC CENTER COMMISSION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Chapter 360 of the 1965 Session Laws, as amended by Chapter 983 of the 1983 Session Laws and Chapter 27 of the 1991 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Section 1.(a) Cumberland County Civic Center Commission.

(b) Membership; Terms of Office. The Commission shall consist of <u>16-10</u> members. Fifteen <u>Nine</u> members shall be residents of Cumberland County and shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The <u>sixteenth tenth</u> member shall be the County Manager of Cumberland County who shall serve in an ex officio and nonvoting capacity and without limit as to term.

- (1) Five (5) of the first members of the Commission shall be appointed for a term of one year, five for a term of two years, and five for a term of three years. Each member of the Commission shall serve for a term of three years, and until their successors are appointed for like terms. The terms shall be staggered. Upon the expiration of each of the terms, the Board of County Commissioners shall appoint successor members of the Commission who shall each serve for terms of three years and until their successors are appointed for like terms. Any member of the Commission may be reappointed for successive terms.
- (5) Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held monthly. Special meetings may be called by the Chairman or a majority of the voting members of the Commission. Attendance of eight five voting members shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transaction of business at any regular or special meeting.

SECTION 2. The provisions of this act do not affect the terms of office of the following members of the Cumberland County Civic Center Commission or their successors who are holding office on the date this act becomes effective: Edith Bigler, Judy Dawkins, McBryde Grannis, Thaddeus T. Jenkins, Mark Lynch, William Tew, Jr., Elizabeth Varnedoe, Nat Robertson, and Robert C. Williams.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10th day of June, 2015.

s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives

