## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

S

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 714**

Sponsors: Senators Blue, McKissick, Woodard (Primary Sponsors); Brock, Cook, J. Davis, Harrington, Hartsell, McInnis, Pate, Randleman, Rucho, Smith, Soucek, Stein, Tucker, Van Duyn, and Wade.

		Soucek, Stein, Tucker, Van Duyn, and Wade.	
	Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate.	
	May 13, 2015		
1	A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE DUKE BLUE DEVILS ON WINNING THE		
2	2015 NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.		
3	Whereas, on April 6, 2015, the Duke University men's basketball team won the		
4	2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating		
5		of Wisconsin by a score of 68-63; and	
6	Whereas, this championship gives Duke University its fifth Division I NCAA title		
7	for the men's basketball program, adding to the championships won in 1991, 1992, 2001, and		
8	2010; and		
9		hereas, the Blue Devils have achieved an outstanding record during their NCAA	
10	tournament history, which includes being selected 13 times as a No. 1 seed and appearing in 39		
11	tournaments with 11 championship game appearances, 16 Final Four appearances, 20 Elite		
12	Eight appearances, and 24 Sweet 16 appearances; and		
13		hereas, the Blue Devils finished the 2014-2015 season with a record of 35-4 and	
14		Io. 1 by the USA Today Top 25 men's basketball coaches' poll; and	
15		nereas, much of the Blue Devils' success can be attributed to the leadership of	
16	head coach, Mike Krzyzewski, a Hall of Fame coach, who during his 35 seasons at Duke has		
17	led his teams to a record of 945-251; and		
18	Whereas, Coach Krzyzewski along with his coaching staff of associate head coach		
19	-	l assistant coaches Nate James and Jon Scheyer guided the Blue Devils to an 11-2	
20	0	nationally ranked opponents, including a 6-1 mark against top 10 foes; and	
21		nereas, Coach Krzyzewski maintains the record for the most number of NCAA	
22		ins, capturing his 88th NCAA win during the 2015 tournament, and with five	
23		titles he owns the second most championships in NCAA history; and	
24		nereas, Duke's historic run also saw Coach Krzyzewski become the first NCAA	
25		en's basketball coach to amass 1,000 career victories with the monumental win	
26		tue of a 77-68 triumph over St. John's at Madison Square Garden on January 25,	
27	2015; and		
28		nereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during	
29	•	throughout their college careers, including Jahlil Okafor, who was a consensus	
30		America, National Freshman of the Year, and became the first freshman in ACC	
21	history to be n	amad conference player of the year and	

31 history to be named conference player of the year; and



1

## **General Assembly of North Carolina**

1 Whereas, senior co-captain Quinn Cook earned second team All-America and 2 All-ACC honors after posting career-bests in scoring, field goal percentage, free throw 3 percentage, three-point field goal percentage, and three-point field goals; and

Whereas, freshman Tyus Jones was named the Final Four Most Outstanding Player
and was selected to the All-Tournament team along with teammates Grayson Allen and Justise
Winslow. Tyus Jones was also the South Regional MOP with Justise Winslow and Matt Jones
earning spots on the South Regional All-Tournament team; and

8 Whereas, each year Duke University is recognized as one the nation's best academic 9 institutions and its basketball program continues to have one of the highest graduation rates for 10 its athletes. In 2015, the Blue Devils placed five members (Grayson Allen, Tyus Jones, Amile 11 Jefferson, Marshall Plumlee, and Justise Winslow) on the ACC All-Academic team for the first 12 time in program history; and

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the basketball tradition that
began in 1906 when Duke alumnus Wilbur Wade "Cap" Card established the sport of
basketball at Duke University (then Trinity College); and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to
 the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore,

18 Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of
 the people of North Carolina to Duke University's men's basketball team for winning the 2015
 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly especially recognizes the achievements of team members Grayson Allen, Quinn Cook, Amile Jefferson, Matt Jones, Tyus Jones, Sean Kelly, Sean Obi, Jahlil Okafor, Nick Pagliuca, Marshall Plumlee, and Justise Winslow along with assistant coaches Nate James and Jon Scheyer; associate head coach Jeff Capel; and head coach Mike Krzyzewski.

27 SECTION 3. The General Assembly honors the memory of Wilbur Wade "Cap"
 28 Card for his contributions to the basketball program at Duke University.

SECTION 4. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this
 resolution to Duke University President Richard H. Brodhead, Vice President and Director of
 Athletics Kevin White, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

32 **SECTION 5.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.